The Football World Cup Winners of 1982


They had to beat Spain and Chile to qualify and the goal averages to fall their way.

final matches

They also had to win two of the final matches to qualify. Although England was not the favourites to win, it did make the entire tournament more exciting.


Unlike in the previous two World Cups, England did not win the tournament in 1990. Unfortunately, they had unlucky results in qualifying.


Italy took the place on goal difference, so they were eliminated after two Group B matches. They lost in Rome, but won in London.


many goals as possible in group D

England also needed to make as many goals as possible in group D against Luxembourg and Finland. Although they were ahead by a goal difference, England were beaten by Italy despite having more opportunities in the group stage. The final match will be played in Doha, Qatar, one week before Christmas. England also made history when they reached the World Cup final for the first time in 60 years. 


Their 4-2 win over West Germany was a World Cup record and they ended up winning their second ever World Cup.


England had won three of their Groups and had one group defeat by the Soviet Union.


France’s golden generation of players had largely retired from international football by this time.


This was largely due to a disagreement between FIFA and the USFSA, the country’s main sports union.

second title

The 1966 World Cup was the second title for France. The team was coached by Aime Jacquet, who had led the country to Euro 1996 and a quarter-final appearance at the World Cup. France eventually lost in a penalty shootout to eventual champions, Spain. France’s team had faced identity issues early on in its history.

2002World Cup

France was also reminded that they are not invincible in the World Cup in 2002, when they were eliminated in the group stage of the tournament. France’s players failed to score during the group stage, making them only the second World Cup champions to be knocked out in the first round since Brazil in 1966. 


As a result, two separate French teams were sent to the 1908 Olympics. Both teams were defeated by Denmark, however.

winning team

He was the captain of a World Cup winning team in 1998 and 2000 and was expected to bring that winning mentality to France’s new squad.

Didier Deschamps

Didier Deschamps took over the team after the Euro 2012 tournamentThe new manager was expected to instill the winning mentality in the team, but ultimately failed to deliver on his promise. France was unable to win the 2014 World Cup, but they did advance to the final. In the round of 16, they beat Nigeria. In the final, they lost to Germany.


France followed that up by a lackluster performance in Euro 2004. They fell to eventual champions Greece in the quarter-finals.