The Football World Cup Winners of 1982

Football World Cup

The Football World Cup Winners of 1982


Who were the football World Cup winners of 1982? There are many possibilities, but four teams emerged as champions. Italy, Brazil, Spain, and Germany were among them.


But the seeds for this triumph were planted fourteen years ago. In the 2000 European Championship, Germany finished last in its group behind England, Romania, and Portugal.

gold medal

The 2014 World Cup is over, and Germany have a gold medal to show for it. This setback led the German Football Association to realize that “Die Nationalmannschaft” was not immortal, and change direction.


discuss the football world cup winners

But which of these teams was the best? We’ll discuss the football world cup winners of each of these four countries in this article. Ultimately, there’s no clear-cut favorite among these teams, but we can all agree that they were all worthy winners. Originally named the Coupe du Monde, it was renamed after FIFA President Jules Rimet, who had helped to set up the World Cup. Brazil’s 1970 victory earned them the right to keep the trophy permanently. Find out more about fotballreiser here. Unfortunately, the trophy was stolen and never recovered.


Germany won its second World Cup in 1974, beating the Netherlands 2-1 in Berlin. 


The team featured stars such as Gerd Muller, Franz Beckenbauer, and Paul Breitner.


In the semifinals, Germany defeated Argentina 7-1. The goalless first half ended in a German penalty shootout, and Andre Schurrle added two goals in the second half.

fourth time

Since 1950, Germany has won four World Cups. West Germany won the World Cup three times in 1954, 1974, and 1990. In 2014, they won the World Cup for a fourth time.

1990 World Cup

West Germany went on to win the 1990 World Cup, their final appearance before the re-united Germany and East Germany became one nation. Germany is one of four teams to win the World Cup outside of their continental confederation Soccer news. They are also one of the few nations to reach the semi-finals more than once. 

national team

Germany’s women’s national team has won one World Cup in recent years. The women’s team last won the World Cup in 2003. The team was led by Birgit Prinz, who won the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot. In the final game, Nia Kunzer scored the game-winning goal in extra time. It was the first “golden goal” in World Cup history.

fifth time

In 2002, it won the FIFA World Cup for the fifth time, beating Germany 2-0 in the final and Turkey 1-0 in the semifinals.


Brazil is one of the most successful national teams in world football. The team has also made it to the final in four other World Cup tournaments. Click here to know more about fotballreiser liverpool.


They were the first team to win a tournament on a continent other than their own.

Brazil’s most recent World Cup appearance was in 2014. The team had high hopes for the tournament, but was knocked out in the quarter-finals by Belgium. They also failed to reach the finals of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, where they lost to Germany in a 7-1 game. Germany went on to win the World Cup against Argentina. They played in the tournament under the leadership of Dunga and won on penalties, after victories over the Netherlands and Sweden in the quarterfinals. Find more about fotballreiser manchester united here.


The trophy is known as the Jules Rimet Trophy.

 Since it was first given out in 1930, the trophy has been awarded to the nations that won the tournament. The Brazilian team came back to win the World Cup in 1994. This was a momentous occasion for the country. It meant a lot to Brazilians, as it was their first major trophy since the tragic death of Ayrton Senna.